Karen and Pete's allotment

This is the place to discuss not just allotments but all general gardening problems and queries which don't fit into the specific categories below.
(formerly allotments and tips, hints and problems)
pete+karen
margo - newbie
margo - newbie

Karen and Pete's allotment

Hi - I haven't been here since 2008! - Karen and I keep tidy gardens for a living but I had a hip replacement recently so would like to share (click to enlarge) some pictures of our allotment from the last few years.
Most of our work these days is at "new build" over 55 / 60's sites where the ground is often half full of builders' junk and so it's a real pleasure to get over to the allotment where we get our best growing fix - the soil here's been worked since at least the dig for victory days.
allotmentdrive.jpg
allotmentdrive.jpg (109.55 KiB) Viewed 18316 times
There are approx 40 plots on our site which is just nice, it's surrounded on all sides with back gardens and you can't see it from the entrance so we get very little trouble from veggie burglars.
I've cut the main grass here for a few years and yet people still wang rocks on there... so I cut high and it's been enough to stop someone coming in with a sprayer.
bins.JPG
bins.JPG (28.04 KiB) Viewed 18029 times
But we love our allotment - the time can just fly by. Our first plot was 20ft x 100ft and the first thing we did was to put up four reinforced pallet bins, bolted together, one 6x4 and three 4x4. We fill the big one first, then turn this into the next one, then the next one until the last turn goes through a stout weld mesh riddle to get out the few sticks and stones. It is possible to have finished compost inside a month if you've the time and/or energy

What we wanted was not raised beds so much, but to have defined 3-4ft wide beds.