My view on "Green"

If you know of a way to help save our planet, even just a small part of it put it here. Also if you want to ask how to help, or even if you want to promote your environmental organisation. All goes here.
Clazbear
margo - newbie
margo - newbie

My view on "Green"

Fri Dec 05, 2008 4:13 pm

Ok I'm a newbie to this forum, but I have been avidly reading posts (and articles on the main site) and want to share my thoughts on our current environmental situation.

At this point I just want to talk about household waste and recycling/reusing.
I think that the supermarkets and convenient living are going to have to take alot of the blame. the rest goes to thoses who don't recycle/reuse.

Why? Well........

When I was a born it was terry nappies, no disposable waste. I choose cloth nappies, but most people don't.

As a kid my parents had milk delivered by the milkman, he would collect the empty glass bottles for reuse. He drove around in an electric float producing no emissions. The only waste my mum had at the end of a week was a few foil tops. I am now the parent and at the end of my week my waste is several big plastic bottles, because we don't have a milk delivery service in the area and I have to buy milk this way in the shop. I choose to recycle my milk bottles, My parents didn't have too!

My mums meat was bought at the local family butcher, her waste, a few small plastic bags. Me, I have to buy my meat from the supermarket, because our family butcher closed down 5 years ago and there's no more in the area. I have several bulky plastic trays with film lids.

Mum had a fruit and veg shop to get her greens from, wrapped in brown paper bags which she reused until they ripped, then my dad composted them, no waste!. Me, even my fruit shop has closed and the nearest one uses non recyclable plastic bags. So I get my greens from the supermarket where they at least have recyleable plastic bags.