Living in a Sustainable House?

If you know of a way to help save our planet, even just a small part of it put it here. Also if you want to ask how to help, or even if you want to promote your environmental organisation. All goes here.
Deblah
margo - newbie
margo - newbie

Living in a Sustainable House?

Hey All!

Im currently doing my masters dissertation at Cardiff University (my course was on sustainability), and my dissertation is about sustainable/eco houses. What Im looking to find out is why people choose to live in a sustainable house and how it then affects their behaviours.

It would be really great if you guys could join in (if you live or have lived in a 'sustainable house') and have a discussion about:
1. why you made the choice to live in a sustainable type house
2. what made the house sustainable
ie high levels of insulation, recycling facilities, location
3. whether you do any other environmentally friendly activities, and whether this is facilitated by your house, or whether you chose your house because it meant you could take part in these activities

I would really appreciate any responses! though, please do bear in mind that I might use some of what you say within my dissertation (without names etc) so dont write anything you wouldnt want made public..

Im really enjoying the site, and want to thank everyone for the kind and generous welcome!
Deblah

Zech
Site Admin
Site Admin
latitude: 52.36
longitude: -3.84

Re: Living in a Sustainable House?

My immediate reaction to this is to wonder whether I could be included in your study, which quickly leads on to wondering what you mean by a "sustainable house"? My house needs a bit of maintenance from time to time, but it's stood here for 200 years and will probably manage another 200, so it's sustaining itself pretty well.