When is everything planting out their Spuds?

Anything to do with growing herbs and vegetables goes here.
mew
Living the good life
Living the good life

When is everything planting out their Spuds?

Ive got 4 varieties of spuds to plant 1st earlies, 2nd earlies, 1st and 2nd mains and since its my first time at growing veg just wondered when everyone else was planning to plant theirs out?

Im eager to get them in but dont want to fall at the first hurdle.

MEW

Andy Hamilton
Site Admin
Site Admin

My first earlies have gone in already, they have been in for about a week.

probably a bit too early really, as they are from the solaces family (nightshade) similar to tomatoes and generally people plant them after the danger of frost has passed. I decided that instead of earthing up I would cover them with straw this year and I am hoping that will protect them against frost.

Have you seen this?
First we sow the seeds, nature grows the seeds then we eat the seeds. Neil Pye
My best selling Homebrew book Booze for Free
and...... Twitter
The Other Andy Hamilton - Drinks & Foraging

Welsh Girls Allotment
Living the good life
Living the good life

I put a row of HOme Guard in yesterday as the shoots were getting a bit big have earthed them up with a little mound and planted them deepish to give them a chance if we have a frost, still got Saxon, Sante,Nadine and Golden Wonder to put in yet, have to do my ironing today so they will have to wait until tomorrow ! :lol:

flower
Barbara Good
Barbara Good

my first earlies went in yesterday. (Red duke of yorks) and they went onto a tyre of muck (snuggled them into a four inch layer of topsoil) and will be piling on more muck in more tyres as the shoots grow.

I believe it is tradditional to plant maincrops on good friday, insulated with the first lawn cuttings of the season....I'll see how the weather goes.

Merry
A selfsufficientish Regular
A selfsufficientish Regular