Newbie here :)

We love hearing from you, so here is your chance. Introduce yourself and tell us what makes you selfsufficient 'ish'. Go on don't be shy, we welcome one and all. You can also tell us how you heard about us if you like.
Bubblefamily
margo - newbie
margo - newbie

Newbie here :)

Hi from Northern Ireland! I’m so glad to find a forum like this ! I do not know one person with any similar interests as my husband and I lol I hope to chat to some here :)

I’ll start off with what led me here. Is it difficult (legally) to live self sufficiently in a Yurt in the UK or Ireland ? For years (since I’ve had children) this has been our dream. Most of what we have read/watched is about families everywhere but the UK :( we have three little boys and I would love to do this before they get any older. We’re an unschooling, somewhat self sufficient (what we can do with what we have) outdoorsy family stuck living in a residential area in a rental we can’t afford and do NOT like. Feel that if I don’t get the ball rolling soon it will never happen :( is there anyone on here in the UK or Ireland living like this ?? For the past year I’ve had my eyes peeled for cheap land but it all seems to have too many restrictions or is far too close to residential areas to stick a yurt on without being bothered by anyone.

Green Aura
Site Admin
Site Admin
latitude: 58.569279
longitude: -4.762620

Re: Newbie here :)

Welcome to Ish, Bubblefamily. :wave:
Bubblefamily wrote:Is it difficult (legally) to live self sufficiently in a Yurt in the UK or Ireland ?
Bubblefamily wrote:For the past year I’ve had my eyes peeled for cheap land but it all seems to have too many restrictions or is far too close to residential areas to stick a yurt on without being bothered by anyone.