Real Ginger Beer Plant

Homebrew, cordials, cheese, dehydrating, smoking and soap making. An area for all problems to be asked, tips to be given and procedures shared.
Mark B
margo - newbie
margo - newbie

Real Ginger Beer Plant

I have been reading through a good few of the posts here and cannot so far see any posts about "real ginger beer plant". I have been brewing ginger beer for some seven months now with a "real ginger beer plant"

Some info - What is The Real Ginger Beer Plant?

The Real Ginger Beer Plant is a collection of watery granules; it is an old fashioned novelty that people used to use to ferment ginger and sugar making ginger beer. It also goes by the name of ‘Palestinian, Californian Bees Wine’ or just simply Bees Wine or even Balm of Gilead. Actually the ‘bees’ are merely a certain type of yeast (or rather a mixture of yeasts and bacteria) which has clumping properties – hence its name – Saccharomyces pyriformis.

As I wrote earlier I was just reading through the posts here and see quite a few new recipe possibilities such as nettle champagne :lol:

I also have lots and lots of plant to offer to anyone who lives in the UK, by way of £1. postage stamp and a bubble envelope. Now this stuff would normally cost up to £15 search out the Kefir shop UK, but I have this stuff stored at home in 2 litre bottles and don't want to throw it away. What a waste.

One of the beauties of brewing with GBP is that you don't need to sterilise anything just visual cleanliness, so its great for the kids to experiment with.

Brewing with the GBP is easy and if like me you live in a hard water area the plant double each time you brew. The only snag is you run out of folk to give it to, hence this post.

If you want any more info on the GBP please do ask.

Thanks Mark
Last edited by Mark B on Wed Apr 16, 2008 6:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

the.fee.fairy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Umm...from everything i've read, Bees Wine is not Ginger Beer.