Identification help

Foods for free. Anything you want to post about wild foods or foraging, hunting and fishing. Please note, this section includes pictures of hunting.

Sorry to say that Selfsufficientish or anyone who posts on here is liable to make a mistake when it comes to identification so we can't be liable for getting it wrong.
fuzzy
margo - newbie
margo - newbie

Identification help

Firstly I would like to say hello. I am really new to foraging and I am looking to get more involved with trying new locations and different plants, as over the years I have only really been picking brambles and elderberries for wines and jams. I am used to spending time outdoors and interested in nature but never had a lot of time to do foraging before.

I have come across 2 different tress in an area and I am not sure what they are, I have attached photos of their fruit. They are both about 12 – 15 feet tall.

The one with the red berries looks interesting as they are bigger that hawthorn berries.
1.jpg
1.jpg (173.96 KiB) Viewed 17324 times
The purple one would looks like plums in the photo but they are lot smaller and there are a lot of fruits at different stages on the same tree, some green and others purple. The trees are really old so the fruit may just be small due to the age or something?
2.jpg
2.jpg (276.21 KiB) Viewed 17324 times
Any help would be great.

Thanks
Neil

Zech
Site Admin
Site Admin
latitude: 52.36
longitude: -3.84

Re: Identification help

Hi Neil,

The first one I recognise and have it flagged in my mind as "Poisonous garden plant" but I don't actually know what it is, so I'm probably wrong.

The second one looks like a member of the plum family, possibly bullaces (quite sweet) or sloes (not sweet, but good in gin or wine. That is, make wine from them, don't just dump them in wine, though who know - it might be good).
---
Rachel