help - win32 problem

Tomorrow's World was a show on BBC TV about innovations and tech stuff and I thought a good name for our computing and tech section.
User avatar
Annpan
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5464
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 2:43 pm
Location: Lanarkshire, Scotland

help - win32 problem

Post: #115109 Annpan
Tue Jul 15, 2008 9:53 pm

I am trying to run an old computer game (it is ceaser3 for those who care) everytime time I click on it it tells me 'D:/ is not a valid win32 application'

I used to play this game lots and I have tried deleting it, unistalling, etc, but I get the same message each time. The autorun function no longer seems to work at all (for this disk)

any suggestions? (get a life does not count as a suggestion :lol: )
Ann Pan

"Some days you're the dog,
some days you're the lamp-post"

My blog
My Tea Cosy Shop
Some photos
My eBay

User avatar
Odsox
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4838
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 2:21 pm
Location: West Cork, Ireland

Re: help - win32 problem

Post: #115441 Odsox
Thu Jul 17, 2008 11:31 am

What version of Windows do you have ?
Have you recently up-graded to Vista for instance ?

Vista won't run any program that hasn't been "approved" by Microsoft, or at least that's what I've been given to understand.
I only run Windows XP, ME and 98 on my various machines.
Tony

Disclaimer: I almost certainly haven't a clue what I'm talking about.

User avatar
Annpan
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5464
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 2:43 pm
Location: Lanarkshire, Scotland

Re: help - win32 problem

Post: #115470 Annpan
Thu Jul 17, 2008 1:23 pm

I am on windows XP too... I used to play this game on this computer and same set-up, but I am wondering if it is because of a XP update at some point.
Ann Pan

"Some days you're the dog,
some days you're the lamp-post"

My blog
My Tea Cosy Shop
Some photos
My eBay

User avatar
MKG
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5010
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:15 pm
Location: North Notts.

Re: help - win32 problem

Post: #115472 MKG
Thu Jul 17, 2008 1:29 pm

I can't remember XP too well - doesn't it have a compatibility setting? Try right-clicking on the program icon and having a look at Properties. Maybe you lost the setup info when you deleted and re-installed.
The secret of life is to aim below the head (With thanks to MMM)

User avatar
Odsox
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4838
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 2:21 pm
Location: West Cork, Ireland

Re: help - win32 problem

Post: #115478 Odsox
Thu Jul 17, 2008 1:55 pm

Yeah it does.
Right click the icon and you can set XP to look like Win 95, 98, ME, 2000 or NT
Also 256 colours and 640 x 480 screen size.

One of those settings should fix it ... try looking at the spec on the program and see what it requires.
Tony

Disclaimer: I almost certainly haven't a clue what I'm talking about.

User avatar
mrsflibble
A selfsufficientish Regular
A selfsufficientish Regular
Posts: 3815
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 9:21 pm
Location: Essex, uk, clay soil, paved w.facing very enclosed garden w/ planters

Re: help - win32 problem

Post: #115935 mrsflibble
Mon Jul 21, 2008 1:51 pm

if all else fails, type the game name and the words "xp patch" into google. you may need a patch as well as runnig compatibility. I recently had to do this for a win95 game to run on my XP.
oh how I love my tea, tea in the afternoon. I can't do without it, and I think I'll have another cup very
ve-he-he-he-heryyyyyyy soooooooooooon!!!!


Return to “Tomorrow's World (Computing and Tech)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests