To anyone else Yahoo is worthless...........

Tomorrow's World was a show on BBC TV about innovations and tech stuff and I thought a good name for our computing and tech section.
User avatar
Martin
A selfsufficientish Regular
A selfsufficientish Regular
Posts: 2029
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 8:50 am
Location: Nr Heathfield, East Sussex
Contact:

To anyone else Yahoo is worthless...........

Post: #82974 Martin
Fri Feb 01, 2008 10:46 pm

why on earth is Microsnot paying WAYYYYYYYYY over the odds for the long-past-it's best Yahoo? What on earth would anybody want with a clapped out search engine that is so slow and inaccurate that it hasn't been worth using for over 5 years?:shock:
About the only thing I think of is for it's database of members.......
Ally that to the spyware built into Vista.........
(seem to remember I registered for some crap online Yahoo forum..........hmmmmm!) :?
http://solarwind.org.uk - a small company in Sussex sourcing, supplying, and fitting alternative energy products.
Amateurs encouraged - very keen prices and friendly helpful service!

User avatar
Annpan
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5464
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 2:43 pm
Location: Lanarkshire, Scotland

Post: #82976 Annpan
Fri Feb 01, 2008 10:59 pm

Freecycle groups are on Yahoo :shock:

Microsoft can't buy google... and it is easier to compete with them by just buying a huge (albeit crappy) competitor... but sounds a tad crazy to me too.
Ann Pan

"Some days you're the dog,
some days you're the lamp-post"

My blog
My Tea Cosy Shop
Some photos
My eBay

User avatar
Arimiel
Jerry - Bit higher than newbie
Jerry - Bit higher than newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 11:18 am
Location: Bremen,Bremen,Germany
Contact:

Post: #82978 Arimiel
Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:12 pm

I agree with you, martin...
I know which side I will never visit again ... it will be vista contanimated.....
well i never understood yahoo... the groups i wanted in never worked.... so i am lucky... didn't visit it since 2005...
let micro go bankcrupt with it... would be intresting to observe how that would affect the ecconomy....
I believe in God, only I spell it Nature.
Frank Lloyd Wright (1869 - 1959)

Shirley
A selfsufficientish Regular
A selfsufficientish Regular
Posts: 7025
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 9:05 am
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Post: #83080 Shirley
Sun Feb 03, 2008 9:51 am

I've got BT Yahoo broadband... does that get affected? What about flickr? etc
Shirley
NEEPS! North East Eco People's Site

My photos on Flickr

Don't forget to check out the Ish gallery on Flickr - and add your own photos there too. http://www.flickr.com/groups/selfsufficientish/

User avatar
mybarnconversion
Living the good life
Living the good life
Posts: 326
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 5:16 pm
Location: Wales
Contact:

Post: #83082 mybarnconversion
Sun Feb 03, 2008 10:19 am

It's all to do with advertising ... Google is #1 and Yahoo #2 in web ad's, hence the crazy valuation

User avatar
Super.Niki
Living the good life
Living the good life
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 7:51 pm
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Contact:

Post: #84323 Super.Niki
Wed Feb 13, 2008 1:47 am

Yahoo may be #2 but Martin has got a point... it's a bit useless!! The only thing good on it is Freecycle and the Sims 2 groups that I download stuff from... but to be honest they are annoying... far too complicated!!!

counting down the days until Google makes an OS!!! Microsnot (sorry, Martin have to steal that it's great) is money-grabbing and awful and macs are just confusing (sorry to Mac lovers... just don't get it!!!) argh!!

Google OS please!!!! I'd buy it!!!!
If I have seen a little further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants.

elfcurry
Tom Good
Tom Good
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Dorset

Google OS ??

Post: #88511 elfcurry
Mon Mar 10, 2008 2:47 pm

Try another OS.

For instance Ubuntu, a variety of Linux is free (both in the 'not constrained' sense as well as costing you nowt) and is easy to install and use.

Really, it is. I tried varieties of Linux in the past and had trouble installing and configuring it and gave up but this is just a breeze. Four installations on different old machines and no problems.

I've been using Ubuntu with no problems for about six months and feel really happy to dump Microsnot. (good name!)

My email is Yahoo and don't much like the idea of my info being sold to the devil so if it goes through, I'm off.

User avatar
Super.Niki
Living the good life
Living the good life
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 7:51 pm
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Contact:

Post: #88532 Super.Niki
Mon Mar 10, 2008 3:25 pm

elfcurry there's something I don't get though...

.....if I do convert to a different OS like linux or something, I am assuming that software I have for Microsnot pooters wont work?

I've paid hundreds (quite literally :cry: ) for my sims 2 games as well as having a few grand's worth of audio software on here.... so if they wont work on a new OS I'd be a bit peeved!..... however I don't know, can anyone enlighten me?
If I have seen a little further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants.

User avatar
hamster
A selfsufficientish Regular
A selfsufficientish Regular
Posts: 883
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 3:52 pm
Location: Wokingham (Berks.), UK

Post: #88542 hamster
Mon Mar 10, 2008 3:49 pm

Yeah, I've thought about that too, as I don't really want to have to get Vista if I need a new laptop (which thanks to planned obsolescence I probably will in a couple of years). I use my laptop for work as well, though, and I need to use Outlook and Word and Messenger, basically because everybody else uses them. If I switch to a new OS, would it be compatible with other computers in the same way?
They're not weeds - that's a habitat for wildlife, don't you know?

http://sproutingbroccoli.wordpress.com

User avatar
Martin
A selfsufficientish Regular
A selfsufficientish Regular
Posts: 2029
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 8:50 am
Location: Nr Heathfield, East Sussex
Contact:

Post: #88554 Martin
Mon Mar 10, 2008 4:24 pm

you don't NEED to use Outlook, Word and Messenger.............have a look at Open Office- it'll open all your microsoft files, and save them as microsnot formats if you wish (forget Works and Office) -- Firefox is the best browser, and the Thunderbird mail programme is superior to, and compatible with the windoze mail programmes (will happily import old emails, address books etc......)
I have NO problems at all with compatibility using Ubuntu and Xandros.
For Niki, if you really must run Windoze software, there are several programmes that allow you to do so in a "window" in Ubuntu :cooldude:
If you want to try the "cowards way", download "Wubi", choose the "ubuntu" download - leave it to download and install (can take AGES, it's 700mb), then you have a choice when you boot up - Windoze or Ubuntu.......I've booted into Windoze at most 6 times since going that route last year (only because I'd "forgotten" things) :wink:
http://solarwind.org.uk - a small company in Sussex sourcing, supplying, and fitting alternative energy products.

Amateurs encouraged - very keen prices and friendly helpful service!

User avatar
Martin
A selfsufficientish Regular
A selfsufficientish Regular
Posts: 2029
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 8:50 am
Location: Nr Heathfield, East Sussex
Contact:

Post: #88555 Martin
Mon Mar 10, 2008 4:27 pm

ps, save a LOT of money, DELL will do you a laptop running Ubuntu! (which is FREE)
then use Open Office to produce "docs" and suchlike............ :wink:
Even Google use Ubuntu in their offices! :cooldude:
http://solarwind.org.uk - a small company in Sussex sourcing, supplying, and fitting alternative energy products.

Amateurs encouraged - very keen prices and friendly helpful service!

User avatar
Super.Niki
Living the good life
Living the good life
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 7:51 pm
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Contact:

Post: #94442 Super.Niki
Mon Apr 07, 2008 1:49 pm

I've heard a lot about unbuntu... but to be honest I'm too nervous to even try and load it!!

Although... my computer has just royally crashed to pieces on me (now using a poorly 4 year old laptop that, miraculously, still works!).... don't know about their laptops but Dell pcs are a bit on the rubbish side (that's the one that's just crashed... and they're being pains about fixing it!!!).

I'm not too worried about using office files (word/excel etc.) because if I need things transferring to uni they use macs anyway... so I end up plunking it all into Google files online and downloading stuff at uni... it works... somehow...

I'm just nervous that I'm not going to get things like Cubase & WaveLab (and, when I get it, ProTools!) to work "normally" (by that I mean I can tweak it and add things to it the way I do at the moment) in ubunto.... and, along those lines, I use an external sound card (M-audio FireWire solo... it's my baby!!) will that be compatible?? What about other stuff like my usb keyboard (the piano-type-variety!) It's soo confusing!!!
If I have seen a little further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants.

User avatar
MKG
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5010
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:15 pm
Location: North Notts.

Post: #94835 MKG
Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:00 pm

I'm running Vista. It amuses me that the US government may be spying on me. I hope that if they find anything interesting, they'll let me know.

ina
A selfsufficientish Regular
A selfsufficientish Regular
Posts: 7698
Joined: Sun May 22, 2005 9:16 pm
Location: Kincardineshire, Scotland

Post: #94839 ina
Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:15 pm

MKG wrote:I'm running Vista. It amuses me that the US government may be spying on me. I hope that if they find anything interesting, they'll let me know.


Hey - they might learn something useful, like how to grow your own veg... :roll:
Ina
I'm a size 10, really; I wear a 20 for comfort. (Gina Yashere)


Return to “Tomorrow's World (Computing and Tech)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest