Want to make - Socks (knitting) (no idea how though)

Have you made something and want to show it off? This is the place for your photos or just talk about the things that you have made or would like to make. All crafts from knitting and crochet to woodwork, in fact anything that you have made!
eco-mick
Barbara Good
Barbara Good

Want to make - Socks (knitting) (no idea how though)

As part of my 2011 new year thingys lol - I want to start making some of my own stuff. And my current lot of socks I have has so many repairs done to them its time to start considering replacing them. So, I am thinking I will learn a new craft and try out knitting ? (a 28 year old eco lad kitting :crazy: ..) I ain't cracked up lol, I want to have a go as the current prices of £12 for a pair of organic wool socks is a tad expensive for me :)

As a total newbie on the knitting front.. can anyone can give me some tips, reference materials on how to knit as its all confusing at the moment, patterns etc.. I have no idea at the moment.

Help

Silver Ether
A selfsufficientish Regular

Re: Want to make - Socks (knitting) (no idea how though)

Well I assume you don't have a real person that can teach you to knit? .. So I suggest you google your tube vids and have a look there at the tutorials and find one that you like and can follow ... Socks are knit in the round generally don't have to be but it means you don't have seems ... Sooooo google how to knit/ knitting for beginners and see if that helps ... Go to your local wool shop they maybe willing to help. Good luck and don't be afraid to come back and ask more...
http://silverether.wordpress.com/

http://www.folksy.com/shops/Silverether

You can be as self-asservative as you like, I said, just so long as you do what you're told.' Esme Weatherwax.

contadina