Legal requirement to display address for online selling?

A chance to meet up with friends and have a chat - a general space with the freedom to talk about anything.
Helsbells
A selfsufficientish Regular

Legal requirement to display address for online selling?

Hi everyone,
Wonder if you can help me. I have read a couple of times and someone is telling me on Etsy that as a UK seller I am required by law to display my address to sellers. I am extremely reluctant to do this because I am a teacher and would not want my pupils finding out where I live. Has anyone heard of this? Are there exceptions to this law being a small business?
Please help, I am panicking now that I am breaking the law!

JuzaMum
Living the good life
Living the good life

Re: Legal requirement to display address for online selling?

This sounds unlikely - ebay sellers don't display their address. I think after a quick google that businesses do have to display an office address but an individual selling a few bits through anothers website doesn't.

JuzaMum
Happiness isn't having what you want but wanting what you have.

bonniethomas06

Yep dead right Juzamum, Distance Selling Regs say you have to show your address but this doesn't apply to individuals selling to individuals, rather businesses (who are trading in the course of business) selling to individuals. Company legislation says that limited companies and other incorporated bodies must show their registered office address, but again, if you are not selling as a limited company you are OK.
"A pretty face is fine, but what a farmer needs is a woman who can carry a pig under each arm"

My blog...

http://www.theparttimesmallholder.blogspot.com

Thomzo
Facebook Name: Zoe Thomas