Self sufficientish in 2019

If you know of a way to help save our planet, even just a small part of it put it here. Also if you want to ask how to help, or even if you want to promote your environmental organisation. All goes here.
Flo
A selfsufficientish Regular

Self sufficientish in 2019

Well time for a review.

Not being a carpenter I bought a new bed. Had the son-in-law had time it might have been "shall we try building one?" but he's doing whatever it takes to earn a living. Yep it's a wooden one I bought. Would have been fun looking for suitable wood mind. The frame on the old one was getting a touch shaky but someone took it away with the skills to upcycle it. I could have done but .... well I fancied a new one. Will only be number 3 in over 70 years.

I've some curtains in a heap next to the sofa. Wonder if the daughter will ever have time to turn them up with the sewing machine or whether I shall have to get out the needle and sewing box to do the job by hand. The material and gathers at the top are worth the £4.50 I paid.

I've seen snowflakes this morning so outside is still on hold. I can prepare an area for spuds on the allotment if I get a dry day soon. Not worth setting things away for at least another week.

As the weather has been so cheerless I spent an hour or two removing cellotape from cardboard packing from the bed and taking out the bits with coloured printing on. I now have some compostable cardboard for the compost heap. Actually it will probably go under some compost to top up last year's compost heap as a growing area.

Am waiting for the landlord to do some rewiring work in the kitchen. Then it will have to be repainted. Can do I suppose.

ina

Re: Self sufficientish in 2019

I have curtains like that... They were bought for the previous house I lived in, but never used. I know where the sewing machine is, but can't find all the bits. Always something...