Hello from the West Midlands

We love hearing from you, so here is your chance. Introduce yourself and tell us what makes you selfsufficient 'ish'. Go on don't be shy, we welcome one and all. You can also tell us how you heard about us if you like.
Viper254
Barbara Good
Barbara Good

Hello from the West Midlands

Hello!

Hope you're all alright - I just wanted to say hello after my account was approved.

I'm quite new to gardening and growing in general. When I was younger, I took out John Seymour's Complete Guide to Self Sufficiency from the school library repeatedly, pawing through the pages and, I suppose, aspiring to some elements of it.

Life happened, I moved around the country for work, spent a long time working hard and now I find myself at a different point a bit later on.

I got an allotment in September through freak timing, some door knocking and some letters written to the previous occupant. It's behind the back garden of my house, about 0.1 acres, 400 square meters.

It's brutally overgrown but my partner and I have been working to try and get it under control. It's laid about 1/4 to lawn, another 1/4 lost to a couple of trees (one cob nut, other not sure) and the other half to brick-bordered beds. It's taken us quite a while to find the paths under years of mulch but I think we largely understand the layout now!

Anyway, I find working out there keeps me sane and I look forward to the spare hours when I can slip out and work on it. We have two varieties of raspberries, black currants, red currants and gooseberries in situ, with the bushes seeming healthy enough. Somebody has tried to cultivate blackberries at some point with a scaffolding frame and they're taking a lot of time to clear.