New to winemaking

Homebrew, cordials, cheese, dehydrating, smoking and soap making. An area for all problems to be asked, tips to be given and procedures shared.
Stickweaver
Jerry - Bit higher than newbie

New to winemaking

Hi, I have never made my own wine before, but spurred on by a friends' blackberry wine I would really like to do this. I have an old 1980s book on country wine and have just bought 'Booze for Free'. Does anyone know if this latter book is suitable for the complete beginner? I am hoping to get to a homebrew shop this week.
Thanks

oldjerry
A selfsufficientish Regular
A selfsufficientish Regular

Re: New to winemaking

Well done Sticky mate,you're in the right place,just wait a bit................................

MKG
Site Admin
Site Admin

You can get lots of books purportedly for the beginning wine maker. Some of them are good, and a lot (most) of them are books pushed out by publishers on a bandwagon - ie, they're as useful as a box of matches in a housefire. Booze For Free was, at least, written by a bloke who's actually done it all - he's tried it for himself and knows a bit about the results.

OK - I'm a tad on his side because I've sort of known him for a while. But I've made wine for a long time now and, as far as I'm concerned, you won't go too far wrong in following Andy's advice to get started.

The ideal, of course, is to build up your own body of experience. That's great, but where do you start? Andy's book is an ideal starter - better than most.

So - just in case you're not actually Andy in disguise - go for Booze For Free. Thoroughly recommended.

Mike
The secret of life is to aim below the head (With thanks to MMM)

Andy Hamilton
Site Admin
Site Admin

Ha, no that wasn't me in disguise!