First attempt at elderflower champagne - couple of questions

Homebrew, cordials, cheese, dehydrating, smoking and soap making. An area for all problems to be asked, tips to be given and procedures shared.
malcolmfraser
Jerry - Bit higher than newbie

First attempt at elderflower champagne - couple of questions

Hi,

I'm following this recipe: http://www.brewuk.co.uk/store/index.php ... -champagne

I've made up the brew and added champagne yeast, the fermentation bucket is now sitting in my cupboard with a muslin over it, according to the recipe I'll leave it there for a week or so before bottling it.

My question is - why use a muslin and not the lid of the bucket? does the brew need oxygen? Is there a risk of mould developing?

I'm completely new to this so sorry if this is a dumb question.

Cheers
Malcolm

MKG
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: First attempt at elderflower champagne - couple of quest

Well, the only mention of muslin I can see is to line the sieve, not cover the bucket. However, it doesn't matter - use the lid or the muslin. The only thing you're doing here is keeping out insects. The brew itself needs no more oxygen than the amount dissolved in the water you started off with - after that, the fermentation produces carbon dioxide which actually excludes oxygen.

There's always a slight risk of a mould developing, but if you were reasonably careful with your sanitisation the risk is minimised to almost nil.

Incidentally, for the next time you make it, Champagne yeast is a tad expensive and it isn't needed - ordinary winemakers yeast will do the job just as well.

Mike
The secret of life is to aim below the head (With thanks to MMM)

malcolmfraser

Hi Mike - thanks for replying.

The River Cottage recipe referred to on that web page tells you to use a muslin to cover the brew. I've now put the fermentation bucket's lid on, it's airtight so it's bulging with the CO2 that's being created, but hopefully that's fine. I'll keep an eye on it just in case!