Cosmetics regulations and all that

A chance to meet up with friends and have a chat - a general space with the freedom to talk about anything.
Green Aura
Site Admin
Site Admin
latitude: 58.569279
longitude: -4.762620

Cosmetics regulations and all that

A cautionary tale for those of you who may be thinking about going into business selling soaps, cosmetics etc.

Yesterday I received a questionnaire from the Trading Standards arm of the Council, checking I'm compliant with the legislation. I've been trading for four years safe in the knowledge that I've been compliant but it appears I might not be! :( And it may even put me out of business.

What makes my products (soaps particularly) different from others is that I blend essential oils/botanicals etc to meet specific skincare requirements. There's nothing on the label to suggest this and I very carefully don't make any claims for the soaps. I do, however, have a list on the wall next to my soap display stating what properties the ingredients have - otherwise would you buy a sh1t brown bar of soap unless you knew it contained anti-acne oils and blackstrap molasses that can aid skin healing?

Truth to tell, of course, I'm probably sailing pretty close to the wind here but have always felt I'm compliant. Seeing the stark question - do you manufacture aromatherapy products? and how do you classify them - cosmetic or medicinal? How do I answer? I'm finding this all really scary.

I fear I may have to remove much of my product list (including my herbal skin salve which is fantastic!) - I could cry. Especially as I've spent well over a thousand pounds for safety assessments that allow me to make these kind of products - I'm an aromatherapist, I don't want to just sell bars of lavender soap - everyone does that!

Sorry folks, I needed a moan. The good news is that work on the bakery is cracking on apace so if Green Aura goes belly up I'll still be able to make bread - until I find out which Regs I fall foul of there.