What can I grow that I don't need to keep buying seeds for?

This is the place to discuss not just allotments but all general gardening problems and queries which don't fit into the specific categories below.
(formerly allotments and tips, hints and problems)
lovelygreenleaves
Barbara Good
Barbara Good

What can I grow that I don't need to keep buying seeds for?

Hi everyone, I'm new to veg growing so would be grateful for your expert advice! I've grown a few things this year, but am trying to make a good plan for next year. Could anyone tell me what I can grow that I can easily save seeds/ cuttings from? and how do I save seeds?? I imagine some must be easier than others :flower:

Green Aura
Site Admin
Site Admin
latitude: 58.569279
longitude: -4.762620

Re: What can I grow that I don't need to keep buying seeds for?

If you have a look on Real Seeds website - I think it is www.realseeds.co.uk - but you can google them.

They have a great section on saving seeds, and the seeds they sell can all be collected in future, if you see what I mean. So even if you need to buy some for next year you should be able to collect from then on. You can let things like onions and celery etc go to seed and collect, but it depends on your original stock if they'll come true next year. Hybrids tend to revert to one of the parent varieties.

Not sure about cuttings - most veg are annuals. There are things like salsify, jerusalem artichokes, spuds and horseradish that you could propagate by dividing the roots/saving tubers, but I can't think of much else offhand.
Maggie

Never doubt that you can change history. You already have. Marge Piercy

Life shrinks or expands in proportion to one's courage. Anais Nin

Helsbells
A selfsufficientish Regular

Runner beans and broad beans are easy to collect the seeds from.

Broad Bean
Tom Good
Tom Good